Regional Youth Taskforce

In January this year, Year 11 student, Poppy Starr, was selected to represent the Central West and Orana region on the NSW Governments’ Regional Youth Taskforce.

The taskforce is made up of two people from each of the nine regional areas across NSW. They meet throughout the year with NSW Minister for Regional Youth, Hon. Ben Franklin MP and focus on four specific Regional Youth Framework pillars: work readiness, wellbeing, connectivity and community.

Members of the Taskforce provide important feedback on how the Government can improve services for young people in regional NSW to improve outcomes. Their first meeting was held in Tamworth on 18-19 February and was centred on the ‘connectivity’ pillar of the Regional Youth Framework.

Members discussed issues such as designated youth spaces, regional areas, internet access, public transport and online safety. These discussions are used to feed directly to policy solutions and are a fantastic opportunity for young leaders to learn how Government operates.

Alumni Update Details Form

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.